TEA VILLA Luxury Resort

Dhaka, Tuesday   28 May 2024

Eye News Desk

Published: 14:16, 26 September 2023

Rain delays start after Bangladesh opt to bat

Rain started a minute or two before the scheduled start of play in the third match of the ODI series against New Zealand in Mirpur on Tuesday after Bangladesh's stand-in captain Najmul Hossain Shanto opted to bat first.

Bangladesh are looking to end the series with a victory after losing the second match by 86 runs following a washout in the first match.

Bangladesh made four changes to the playing XI from the second game, with Shanto coming in for the first time in the series, alongside Mushfiqur Rahim, Shoriful Islam and Zakir Hossain, who will make his debut today. The ones to miss out are: Liton Das, Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar and Mustafizur Rahman.

New Zealand have a debutant too in the form of Dean Foxcroft. Foxcroft replaces Chad Bowes while Adam Milne   comes in for Kyle Jamieson.

There was some shower early in the morning, but things have brightened considerably before returning again on the eve of the start. 


Bangladesh: 1 Najmul Hossain Shanto (capt), 2 Tanzid Hasan, 3 Towhid Hridoy, 4 Mahmudullah, 5 Mushfiqur Rahim, 6 Zakir Hasan, 7 Mahedi Hasan, 8 Nasum Ahmed, 9 Hasan Mahmud, 10 Khaled Ahmed, 11 Shoriful Islam

New Zealand: 1 Finn Allen, 2 Will Young, 3 Dean Foxtrot, 4 Henry Nicholls, 5 Tom Blundell, 6 Rachin Ravindra, 7 Cole McConchie, 8 Adam Milne, 9 Ish Sodhi, 10 Lockie Ferguson, 11 Trent Boult

Read More

Green Tea